1

Attack of the Twilight Facebook Game!

Image via.

Any time there’s an upcoming movie with an extremely dedicated fan base, you can expect to find cyber-crooks trying to take advantage of the fanaticism to make money.

A recent malware finding indicates that this is precisely the case with “Twilight: Breaking Dawn,” the next movie in the wildly popular Twilight series.  A “Breaking Dawn” Facebook game recently emerged and appears to simply promote the upcoming film.  Unfortunately, it turns out that the game’s intentions aren’t so innocent.

A link spread throughout Facebook encourages Twilight fans to “Play Twilight: Breaking Dawn Be the first of your friends to play the awesome new Twilight game on Facebook!”  Clicking on the link takes unsuspecting fans to a Facebook page for the Twilight: Breaking Dawn game.  It has a “Play Now” button that, when clicked, results in a “Like” of the game.

When victims click “Play Now” and unknowingly “Like” the game, they automatically share the fraudulent link with all of their Facebook friends.  Then, they’re asked for permission to grant third-party access to their Facebook account.  Approving third-party access enables the scammers to post online surveys on Facebook walls that earn them money any time they are completed.

‘Clickjacking’…or, more specifically, ‘Likejacking’

The “Breaking Dawn” attack is an example of a clickjacking attack.  Or, perhaps a more appropriately—a “Likejacking” attack, as some have called it.

Clickjacking is an online attack that involves tricking a user into clicking hidden buttons that perform malicious actions on a webpage.  In a clickjacking attack, when a user thinks he’s clicking an innocuous button on a webpage, he’s actually interacting with an invisible layer of malicious code.

Since the “Breaking Dawn” attack uses Facebook’s “Like” button to carry out the scam, some has dubbed this type of attack a ‘Likejacking’ attack.

What to do if you’ve been had

If you have succumbed to this attack, there are some immediate actions you can take:

  • Delete the application by going to your Facebook account’s application settings
  • Delete all wall posts about the game and tell your friends to do the same
  • Make sure to report suspicious links or messages to Facebook’s security team
This entry was posted in Malware Alerts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>