Restore registry backup

Registry Mechanic automatically creates a backup of the entries it changes in the Windows Registry, whenever the Repair function is executed. These backups allow you to undo any of these changes.

To access Registry Mechanic's Restore backup function, click the Restore button on Registry Mechanic's screen. The Main Status screen is replaced with the Restore registry backup screen.

To restore a registry backup created by Registry Mechanic, complete the following steps:

  1. On the Restore registry backup screen, select the check box next to the appropriate registry backup in the list.

Note: If the number of registry backups becomes difficult to manage, the registry backup list can be sorted by clicking the appropriate field name at the top of the list. Registry backups can be sorted alphanumerically by the following criteria:

Clicking multiple times on a field name toggles between forward and reverse sorting by that criterion.

  1. Click the Restore button. Changes implemented in the repair event which created the selected backup are reverted back to their original state, and you are returned to the Main Status screen.

To restore individual entry items within a registry backup, complete the following steps:

  1. On the Restore registry backup screen, open the appropriate registry backup by double-clicking its name in the list or by selecting its check box and clicking the Open button.

  2. Select the check boxes next to the appropriate entry items. Other selection options are available in a right-click menu, which is displayed by right-clicking anywhere in the list.

Note: If the number of entry items becomes difficult to manage, the entry items list can be sorted by clicking the appropriate field name at the top of the list. Entry items can be sorted alphanumerically by the following criteria:

Clicking multiple times on a field name toggles between forward and reverse sorting by that criterion.

  1. Click the Restore button. The selected entry items are restored back to their original state, and you are returned to the Restore registry backup screen. Alternatively, click the Finished button to return to the Restore registry backup screen without restoring any individual items.

To delete a Registry backup, complete the following steps:

  1. On the Restore registry backup screen, select the check box next to the appropriate registry backup in the list.

  2. Click the Delete button, and the selected registry backup is deleted.

If you do not wish to restore or delete any further backups, click the Finished button. This closes the Restore registry backup screen and returns you to the Main Status screen.

Notes:

Related Topics