Registry Home > Network > Clients

Prevent Uploading Folders to a Users Server Profile (Windows NT/2000/XP)

When profiles are used and a user logs off from a Windows domain certain folders are uploaded to the central user profile on the server. This setting allows you to stop any time consuming or non-essential folders (e.g. Temporary Internet Files) from being transferred.

This tweak can be easily applied using WinGuides Tweak Manager.
Download a free trial now!

Open your registry and find the key below.

Create a new string value called "ExcludeProfileDirs" and set it to equal the directory names to be excluded from the upload.

Restart Windows for the change to take effect.

Note: The directory names should be entered relative to the root of the profile, and must be separated by semicolons.

Registry Editor Example
|NameTypeData|
|(Default)REG_SZ(value not set)|
|ExcludeProfileDirsREG_SZTemporary Internet Files;Personal|
-
|HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersi...|
-
Registry Settings
User Key: [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
Value Name: ExcludeProfileDirs
Data Type: REG_SZ (String Value)
Value Data: Directories to Exclude

Related Tweaks

>> Recommended Download - check, repair and optimize your registry now with Registry Mechanic <<

Disclaimer: Modifying the registry can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. We cannot guarantee that problems resulting from modifications to the registry can be solved. Use the information provided at your own risk.

Last modified: August 26, 2002