Do Not Move Deleted Files to the Recycle Bin (Windows XP)
When a file or folder is deleted in Windows Explorer, a copy of the file or folder is placed in the Recycle Bin. Using this setting, you can change this behavior.
|This tweak can be easily applied using WinGuides Tweak Manager.|
Download a free trial now!
Open your registry and find the key below.
If you enable this setting by creating a DWORD value called "NoRecycleFiles" and setting it to "1" then files and folders that are deleted using Windows Explorer will not be placed in the Recycle Bin and will therefore be permanently deleted.
If you disable or do not configure this setting, files and folders deleted using Windows Explorer will be placed in the Recyele Bin.
Logoff for the change to take effect.
Note: This setting applies to all hard drive partitions on the computer.
|(Default)||REG_SZ||(value not set)|
Value Name: NoRecycleFiles
Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
Value Data: (1 = enabled restriction)
- Disable the Recycle Bin (Windows 98/Me/2000/XP) Popular
>> Recommended Download - check, repair and optimize your registry now with Registry Mechanic <<
Disclaimer: Modifying the registry can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. We cannot guarantee that problems resulting from modifications to the registry can be solved. Use the information provided at your own risk.
Last modified: June 20, 2003
|More Guides »||Security Guide||Support Forums||Software Guide||Scripting Guide||Search|