Go to Support Home Page
Go to Online Knowledgebase


Go Back   PC Tools Community Forum > PC Tools Products > Spyware Doctor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2007, 07:34 PM
screamer's Avatar
screamer screamer is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Big Apple, USA
Posts: 58
Default False Positive ? Trojan-PSW.Win32.Delf.ej

On an intelli scan SWD came up w/ 30 infections: Trojan-PSW.Win32.Delf.ej

I scanned w/ AVG and aSquared and they found nothing. Also submitted an online HJT file for auto scanning and it also found nothing.

Any thought's ???

...screamer


Edit: didn't realize that the scan wouldn't show full size
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2007-08-11_SWD.jpg (29.3 KB, 23 views)
__________________
OutPost Firewall Pro 4.0 NOD32 2.70 SSM 2.3.0.611

XPS 600, Pentium D "950" 3.4Ghz, 2GB Ram, 320GB Raid 0, Dual nVidia GeForce 7800GTX

Last edited by screamer; 08-11-2007 at 07:36 PM. Reason: added comment
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2007, 07:38 PM
tom.tdw's Avatar
tom.tdw tom.tdw is offline
Expert
Expert Volunteer
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,179
Default

i can't really see the key

could you email me the image (my email is twright@antimalwaresupport.com) and i'll post a full size version
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2007, 08:29 PM
Neocorey Neocorey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I received the same thing on the trial version. I think it's just a scam to get you to buy the program. Because I've run over 5 different spyware programs and not 1 has scanned and found a trojan other than spyware doctor. It also shows a lot of programs with warning that aren't even on my computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2007, 10:32 PM
vecchio's Avatar
vecchio vecchio is offline
Expert
Expert Volunteer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neocorey View Post
I received the same thing on the trial version. I think it's just a scam to get you to buy the program. Because I've run over 5 different spyware programs and not 1 has scanned and found a trojan other than spyware doctor. It also shows a lot of programs with warning that aren't even on my computer.
i dont think pctools SD tell you are infected just to make you buy the program
most program do it but i cant imagine pctools doing this
2 points my friend:
1 you are infected(and i can assure you SD CAn found a lot of infections and maybe other products found nothing
2- its a sd false positive..but its very rare with SD
hope this helps
__________________
A PC - Tools fan (Again)
Thanks AChen you have opened my eyes
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2007, 10:36 PM
tom.tdw's Avatar
tom.tdw tom.tdw is offline
Expert
Expert Volunteer
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neocorey View Post
I received the same thing on the trial version. I think it's just a scam to get you to buy the program. Because I've run over 5 different spyware programs and not 1 has scanned and found a trojan other than spyware doctor. It also shows a lot of programs with warning that aren't even on my computer.
probably a FP then

strings of numbers can often set off FP's
it's not just to attract new customors, that's what the cookie scanner is for
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2007, 03:00 AM
screamer's Avatar
screamer screamer is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Big Apple, USA
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neocorey View Post
I received the same thing on the trial version. I think it's just a scam to get you to buy the program. Because I've run over 5 different spyware programs and not 1 has scanned and found a trojan other than spyware doctor. It also shows a lot of programs with warning that aren't even on my computer.
You are wrong my friend. If SWD did use scare tactics / create FP to induce you to purchase the app, they would be on the Rouge Spyware List:

http://spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm

Instead, they are on the short list of trustworthy apps.

...screamer
__________________
OutPost Firewall Pro 4.0 NOD32 2.70 SSM 2.3.0.611

XPS 600, Pentium D "950" 3.4Ghz, 2GB Ram, 320GB Raid 0, Dual nVidia GeForce 7800GTX
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2007, 03:02 AM
screamer's Avatar
screamer screamer is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Big Apple, USA
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom.tdw View Post
i can't really see the key

could you email me the image (my email is twright@antimalwaresupport.com) and i'll post a full size version
Tom, did you get the image I sent you?

...screamer
__________________
OutPost Firewall Pro 4.0 NOD32 2.70 SSM 2.3.0.611

XPS 600, Pentium D "950" 3.4Ghz, 2GB Ram, 320GB Raid 0, Dual nVidia GeForce 7800GTX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2007, 10:07 AM
tom.tdw's Avatar
tom.tdw tom.tdw is offline
Expert
Expert Volunteer
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by screamer View Post
Tom, did you get the image I sent you?

...screamer
here it is:
http://www.screencast.com/t/_46AKa4c0

sorry my main email address is twright@antimalwaresupport.co.uk (i posted the wrong one)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2007, 03:23 PM
screamer's Avatar
screamer screamer is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Big Apple, USA
Posts: 58
Default

Well, I sent a support ticket to tech support regarding this find. In the meantime, I put it on the Global Action (Trust) List. We'lll see what TS says.

...screamer
__________________
OutPost Firewall Pro 4.0 NOD32 2.70 SSM 2.3.0.611

XPS 600, Pentium D "950" 3.4Ghz, 2GB Ram, 320GB Raid 0, Dual nVidia GeForce 7800GTX
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2007, 07:06 PM
AdrianE AdrianE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

SWD found this Trojan on my machine and I just clicked the fix button and it went away. A quick search shows this Tojan is present on other companies malware list. i.e. CounterSpy.

If SWD shows it as a know infection and other products don't, why do you think its a false positive and not just PC-Tools being ahead of the game?

Adrian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 AM.