PDA

View Full Version : more aggressive in blocking sites



tigertheboo
11-14-2009, 01:49 PM
I've changed nothing but recently SDAV has been more aggressive in blocking ad sites that are on the standard news pages that I access. No real problem as sd is blocking cookies it thinks is evil and all that is blocked are some ads. What is puzzling me is why the increase in sites being blocked? What it claims to be blocking seem to be annoying tracking cookies that I thought it always blocked in the background.

haapy
11-14-2009, 04:08 PM
Open SD, Click IntelliGuard, Cookie Guard, click disable cookie alerts.

tigertheboo
11-14-2009, 04:54 PM
Thanks
I keep cookie alerts disabled already.
This one is no big deal, just a minor observation.
On several news web site site guard is now more frequently popping up saying block such and such a site (an advertising site) i have to manually agree to block it though I guess i could give a permanent command to do so.

What I was questioning is these ad sites have been appearing for quite some time and now all of a sudden sdav is wanting to block them.

No harm, either way, as I don't really need the ads and in fact don't want them.

AChen
11-16-2009, 05:31 AM
Could you send some us some links of the news sites you are visiting? and also the history file from SD?

tigertheboo
11-16-2009, 01:39 PM
Here is one of the recently blocked sites

11/11/2009 2:54:32 PM:222 Site Guard: Blocked Site
Threat Name - Adware.Advertising
Details - Site Guard has blocked access to a bad website
Risk Level - Low
Infection - ad.yieldmanager.com (66.94.244.24)

web search indicates ad... is a bad guy.

Don't remember what I was linked to at the time but it was either through amazon or cnn,

next time it occurs I'll make sure I note the link, sorry

And, not a big deal.

tigertheboo
11-17-2009, 01:09 PM
the blocking popup occurred on the ally bank site

http://www.ally.com/index.html?CP=ppc110114

11/17/2009 7:05:42 AM:84 Site Guard: Blocked Site
Threat Name - Adware.Advertising
Details - Site Guard has blocked access to a bad website
Risk Level - Low
Infection - ad.yieldmanager.com (66.94.244.24)

I know its minor but such stuff occurring on bank sites is bothersome.
Probably sd av is doing its jobs and protecting.

I have the tracking cooking settting set up not to notify me

haapy
11-17-2009, 04:31 PM
ad.yieldmanager.com (66.94.244.24)


That IP address is owned by Yahoo.

Google ad.yieldmanager.com and you will find interesting info from tracking your surfing habit to malware.

Seems a worthy site to permanntly block.