PDA

View Full Version : antispyguard.com is using your text


nosirrah
10-19-2007, 06:43 PM
http://antispyguard.com/

This appears to be a new rogue (download not live yet) and the text on its home page seems to be taken directly from PCTools .

I have been sitting on this rogue for a while but only today noticed that its home page directly plagiarizes PCTools .

Any of the following strings from the antispyguard site turn up PCTools pages on google :

you are protected against the most nefarious cyber-threats attempting to gain access to your PC and personal information

has the most advanced update feature that continually improves its Spyware fighting capabilities on daily basis

It is automatically configured out of the box to give you optimal protection with limited interaction so all you need to do is install it for immediate and ongoing protection

mjq424
10-19-2007, 07:02 PM
Hi
It's not just sections of the text being copied. It is (virtually) word for word!

zoofbar
10-19-2007, 09:25 PM
lol..... hope they have a bit of text that PCtools doesnt

"SUPPORT VISTA 64"

socrfan
10-20-2007, 01:20 PM
You could say that for maybe 9 out of 10 software companies out there. Very few are supporting it and I think very few users are using it.:)

socrfan
10-20-2007, 01:27 PM
http://antispyguard.com/

This appears to be a new rogue (download not live yet) and the text on its home page seems to be taken directly from PCTools .

I have been sitting on this rogue for a while but only today noticed that its home page directly plagiarizes PCTools .

Any of the following strings from the antispyguard site turn up PCTools pages on google :


They claim to have won an Editor's Choice award in Secure Home PC Magazine. Anyone heard of it? I ran a search and nothing came up and on PC Magazine's site no mention of the program either. Rogue indeed.

nosirrah
10-21-2007, 07:50 AM
This rogue was discovered on September 4th but the download has never functioned .

Kind of hard to win awards if your can't even download the app .

The reverse IP for their server turns up nothing but junk (don't go to these sites if you do not know what you are doing) :

Altmaxtravel.com
Antispyguard.com
Bestsexworld.info
Fastmediaservice.com
Traffic-converter.biz
Xpantivirus.com

Xpantivirus.com is another rogue (download is live for this one) and the others seem to be Zlob start points .

Keith Warner
10-21-2007, 12:34 PM
These crooks aren't gonna get very far if all the links but one come back 'error 404 - not found.' And the 'Buy Now' link does nothing at all. Chumps! LOL

Hah! Went back for a second look. These copy & paste artists didn't even take Spyware Doctor out of the first paragraph.http://www.talkdisney.com/forums/images/smilies/goofy.gif

nosirrah
10-25-2007, 07:02 PM
FYI to the hunters/developers .

This rogue has just gone live .

nosirrah
10-25-2007, 07:44 PM
Just confirmed that this is rogue .

Total uninstall snapshot indicates that this rogue installs the very same "threats" that it detects .

It then asks for money to remove them .

nosirrah
10-25-2007, 07:45 PM
LOL , they fixed the spywaredoctor typo .

allibear
10-26-2007, 08:46 AM
LOL , they fixed the spywaredoctor typo .

Nosirrah, your having a great time with this one LOL. I can't help but wonder if the author's have visited here and saw Keith's comment about the text or did they discover it on a proof read themselves :D

Gracious of you to drop by this forum and bring this to everyone's attention.