View Full Version : False Positive ? Trojan-PSW.Win32.Delf.ej
screamer
08-11-2007, 07:34 PM
On an intelli scan SWD came up w/ 30 infections: Trojan-PSW.Win32.Delf.ej
I scanned w/ AVG and aSquared and they found nothing. Also submitted an online HJT file for auto scanning and it also found nothing.
Any thought's ???
...screamer
Edit: didn't realize that the scan wouldn't show full size :(
tom.tdw
08-11-2007, 07:38 PM
i can't really see the key
could you email me the image (my email is twright@antimalwaresupport.com) and i'll post a full size version
Neocorey
08-11-2007, 08:29 PM
I received the same thing on the trial version. I think it's just a scam to get you to buy the program. Because I've run over 5 different spyware programs and not 1 has scanned and found a trojan other than spyware doctor. It also shows a lot of programs with warning that aren't even on my computer.
vecchio
08-11-2007, 10:32 PM
I received the same thing on the trial version. I think it's just a scam to get you to buy the program. Because I've run over 5 different spyware programs and not 1 has scanned and found a trojan other than spyware doctor. It also shows a lot of programs with warning that aren't even on my computer.
i dont think pctools SD tell you are infected just to make you buy the program
most program do it but i cant imagine pctools doing this
2 points my friend:
1 you are infected(and i can assure you SD CAn found a lot of infections and maybe other products found nothing
2- its a sd false positive..but its very rare with SD
hope this helps
tom.tdw
08-11-2007, 10:36 PM
I received the same thing on the trial version. I think it's just a scam to get you to buy the program. Because I've run over 5 different spyware programs and not 1 has scanned and found a trojan other than spyware doctor. It also shows a lot of programs with warning that aren't even on my computer.probably a FP then
strings of numbers can often set off FP's
it's not just to attract new customors, that's what the cookie scanner is for:D
screamer
08-12-2007, 03:00 AM
I received the same thing on the trial version. I think it's just a scam to get you to buy the program. Because I've run over 5 different spyware programs and not 1 has scanned and found a trojan other than spyware doctor. It also shows a lot of programs with warning that aren't even on my computer.
You are wrong my friend. If SWD did use scare tactics / create FP to induce you to purchase the app, they would be on the Rouge Spyware List:
http://spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm
Instead, they are on the short list of trustworthy apps.
...screamer
screamer
08-12-2007, 03:02 AM
i can't really see the key
could you email me the image (my email is twright@antimalwaresupport.com) and i'll post a full size version
Tom, did you get the image I sent you?
...screamer
tom.tdw
08-12-2007, 10:07 AM
Tom, did you get the image I sent you?
...screamerhere it is:
http://www.screencast.com/t/_46AKa4c0
sorry my main email address is twright@antimalwaresupport.co.uk (i posted the wrong one:o)
screamer
08-12-2007, 03:23 PM
Well, I sent a support ticket to tech support regarding this find. In the meantime, I put it on the Global Action (Trust) List. We'lll see what TS says.
...screamer
AdrianE
08-12-2007, 07:06 PM
SWD found this Trojan on my machine and I just clicked the fix button and it went away. A quick search shows this Tojan is present on other companies malware list. i.e. CounterSpy.
If SWD shows it as a know infection and other products don't, why do you think its a false positive and not just PC-Tools being ahead of the game?
Adrian
tom.tdw
08-12-2007, 07:40 PM
SWD found this Trojan on my machine and I just clicked the fix button and it went away. A quick search shows this Tojan is present on other companies malware list. i.e. CounterSpy.
If SWD shows it as a know infection and other products don't, why do you think its a false positive and not just PC-Tools being ahead of the game?
Adrianjudging by where in the redgisty it is located it not activly doing anything, it's just data sitting there (not doing more than a text file would), so it's not activly affecting the system
also taking into account the clean HJT log it's very unlikelly to be a trojan
AChen
08-13-2007, 03:21 AM
On an intelli scan SWD came up w/ 30 infections: Trojan-PSW.Win32.Delf.ej
I scanned w/ AVG and aSquared and they found nothing. Also submitted an online HJT file for auto scanning and it also found nothing.
Any thought's ???
...screamer
Edit: didn't realize that the scan wouldn't show full size :(
Hi screamer,
In order for us to investigate this further, could you please send us a malware log?
screamer
08-13-2007, 03:40 AM
Anthony, send it to whom, you?
...screamer
AChen
08-13-2007, 03:52 AM
Anthony, send it to whom, you?
...screamer
Run the malware detective and PM me your email address or ticket number and I'll have the MRC team take a look at this and will get back to you :D
rpertusio
08-13-2007, 08:41 PM
Hi everyone!
This is Ryan Pertusio from AutumnWave. We make HDTV tuners for PCs. A part of our software is also being identified as a 'False Positive' (Trojan-PSW.Win32.Delf.ej).
The file in question is:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\actskn43.ocx
In regards to the original poster, the registry keys mentioned ({00F442C2-5C9E-4ae5-AF7D-FB4E0350C2E3} for example) belong to ActiveSkin. There are references to 'actskn43.ocx' in those registry entries.
ActiveSkin is what makes programs 'look pretty', including our own 'OnAir HDTV Program'. (There are other programs out there that use ActiveSkin to make their programs look nice.)
To my knowledge, there is no trojan in the ActiveSkin file.
I have reported the False Positive at the Vendor reporting page. If there is any additional information that I can provide, let me know.
- Ryan Pertusio
AutumnWave Technical Support
OnAir Solution North America
http://www.autumnwave.com/
AChen
08-15-2007, 04:25 AM
This should be resolved in tommorrows update :) Please let me know if you are still having problems with this.
rpertusio
08-15-2007, 01:26 PM
Thanks for the quick fix!
- Ryan
tom.tdw
08-15-2007, 07:32 PM
i've had the same FP even with the new version
http://www.screencast.com/t/4i5Qh7t0
AChen
08-16-2007, 03:04 AM
Hi All,
This will be resolved in todays update :D
screamer
08-16-2007, 05:03 AM
Just did a Custom Scan and the FP raised its ugly head again.
...screamer
AChen
08-16-2007, 05:10 AM
Screamer - Could you provide me with your DB version? and I'll check this up.
BenJr
08-16-2007, 05:34 AM
Hey Guys,
Just updated to .259 and SD found a similar Trojan on my system, hopefully a false positive:
Trojan-PWS.Delf.EJ
I Googled it and found this thread on MajorGeeks:
http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=134644
AChen
08-16-2007, 05:47 AM
Could you guys check that you currently have DB 5.07950. As this issue is resolved with this DB version. If you do not have this version, please run a Smart Update. If you are still continuing to receive problems with this, please reply to this thread and I'll investigate this further.
screamer
08-16-2007, 02:39 PM
Anthony: DB Version 5.07960
...screamer
edit: BTW: I quarantined the FP w/ no ill effects -so far
BenJr
08-16-2007, 06:54 PM
Well I'm currently using DB 5.07950, but I'm not sure if that was the data base used during the initial scan after the installation.
I've also quarantined the FP and all seems to be well. :)
AChen
08-17-2007, 05:17 AM
Thanks for getting back :)
We'll need to investigate this further.
jayd63
09-27-2007, 05:33 AM
I'm using DB 5.08220e and had the same problem.
c_edge
09-27-2007, 07:13 AM
Seems like your on the older version of SD and an older db version.
For new version check http://www.pctools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=49050.
For latest database version check http://www.pctools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=49000
If SD still detects these FP's, probably a good idea to attach the screenshot of the actual file being detected so PCT can look into this.
c_edge
Jitney
09-27-2007, 05:49 PM
I have had a few FP's over the last few months. The most recent happened after upgrading to the 5.1.0.268 version. It identified a file called "autorun.ini" as a worm that would download a keylogger onto my system. On inspection, the file had been created when the computer was bought and had references to the computer manufacturer all through it. It was a 710 byte file that contained only text. Just to be sure, I sent a copy to VirusTotal for processing and got zero positives. I don't quite know how this particular file triggered the identification, but I guess that it is only to be expected that you will get some FP's when you have such a high rate of malware identification. The moral of the story is: don't be in a hurry to delete files ID'd as malware. I don't quite know what would have happened if the .ini file was removed - something would probably have been broken. This FP is only the latest of 6 that I have had, but I frequently try different software, so that may be unusually high. Now that SD is a well-known leader in the field, more vendors are working to assure compatibility, so the FP's will likely be fewer as time goes on.
vBulletin® v3.8.1, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.